A Psalm for Suffering

November 21, 2010 at 12:06 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
Why are you so far from saving me,
so far from the words of my groaning?
O my God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer,
by night, and am not silent.
…Yet you brought me out of the womb;
you made me trust in you
even at my mother’s breast.
From birth I was cast upon you;
from my mother’s womb you have been my God.
Do not be far from me,
for trouble is near
and there is no one to help.
I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint.
My heart has turned to wax;
it has melted away within me.
My strength is dried up like potsherd,
and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth;
you lay me in the dust of death.
…O my Strength, come quickly to help me.
Deliver my life from the sword,
my precious life from the power of the dogs.
Rescue me…

– Psalm 22

2 Comments

  1. Rick said,

    Greetings in His name, Sister J.C.,

    i’m a fellow non-BPD with equally sad stories that all point me towards how it’s all about God’s will, plan, and manifestation and not our own. because i only occasionally check the contents of the yahoo group WTOChristian, i only today read your story.
    i am moved to send to you my sincere encouragement and real prayers for your walk with God to be everything that a relationship with a damaged person can never be.
    i’m greatly impressed by your competence, logic, resourcefulness, and faithfulness,
    and i just want you to know that your burdens are lighter for having shared them; similarly the amount of love you are receiving is multiplying exponentially and can only be meant to enhance your healing from these real emotional injuries.
    please keep going back to the scriptures and apply them anew each time suffering becomes part of your walk back home. Jesus certainly suffered for us, so i don’t deny Him some of my own blood at times… for you i have no suggestions that you haven’t yet tried; my attempts to keep my marriages together (both had PD’s, real PTSD and traits of BPD, NPD, OCD, etc) failed, but my questions were answered about my origins and how i chose so badly (the second time i was tag-teamed by her mom, who is worse!).
    with knowledge comes great sorrow, yes?
    you don’t have to reply to me or keep in contact unless you require more support than you already get through the newsgroup. keep that faith, and realize that this has to be a test from God because we could never imagine such a convoluted way to bring our proud knees down to the ground to pray.
    admiringly yours,
    Rick
    Pemberton NJ

  2. Survivor Squared said,

    Truer words [with knowledge comes great sorrow] are never spoken. Thank you very much for your kind words of encouragement; it is all too easy to become discouraged waiting for God’s reponse sometimes (His timing is perfect, but I am often most impatient). I’m hanging out with Mark 5:36 [Don’t be afraid; just believe] and Psalm 52:9 [I will hope in Your name, for Your name is good] these days.
    If only I had asked Him BEFORE I got married way back when. I cannot, however, really regret my marriage because of the positive things that have come out of this sadly negative situtation (our children, for one).
    Thank you again for your thoughtful comments Rick.

Leave a comment